141 students named MS Scholars, Tech Masters

Published 10:30 am Thursday, April 27, 2023

The Lincoln County chapter of Mississippi Scholars conducted its 2023 awards ceremony Sunday, April 23, at Easthaven Baptist Church in Brookhaven.

A total of 141 graduating seniors from all high schools in Brookhaven and Lincoln County received Mississippi Scholars and Mississippi Scholars Tech Master distinctions.

The Mississippi Scholars Initiative is an education program managed by the Public Education Forum of Mississippi, which utilizes business leaders to motivate students to complete a rigorous course of study in high school. The course path begins in eighth grade and is intended to give students a boost for college and life. In addition to a minimum number of credit hours in school, students must maintain a minimum 2.5 cumulative grade point average, 95 percent attendance, no out-of-school suspensions, a minimum ACT or ASVAB score, passing scores on all end-of-course exams, and a minimum of 80 hours community or volunteer service.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Tech Master designation is for students planning to go straight into a career after high school.

More than $99,000 in scholarships was awarded to the students.

“We are so proud to honor so many students this year and recognize their academic achievements and hearts for serving,” said Lincoln County Mississippi Scholars program director Amy Mason. “These young men and women served nearly 18,000 hours in their community during their high school years, all while pursuing a more rigorous course of study, and excelling in extracurricular activities.”

Scholarships are funded by area businesses, civic organizations, churches and individuals, as well as state and regional colleges and universities. For more information, contact Mason at MSScholarsBrookhaven@yahoo.com.

The following is a list of all 141 Scholars. A (TM) is after the person’s name if he or she is a Tech Master. An asterisk (*) indicates the person received both the Mississippi Scholar and Tech Master distinctions.


Bogue Chitto — Aynslee E. Butler, Raynie N. Dunaway, Lindsey J. Greer, Chase A. Jacson, Fayth M. Magee, Harleigh R. Porter, Alkendra N. Wall and Kassidi L. Watts

Brookhaven Academy — Kyla R. Armistad, Colin D. Beal, Easton N. Boyte, Ella C. Brown, Carlee K. Case, Casey S. Chaffin, Emma L. Gates, Lillie A. Gates, Judson L. Griffin, Steven C. Jensen, William G. Johnson, Katherine A. LeBlanc, Parker C. Moak, Isabelle P. Nelson, Reagan M. Newman, Lauren M. Peters, Emma G. Price, Bailey C. Reid, Mackenzie B. Roberts, Jacob M. Sanford, Tyler A. Shann, Sara R. Smith and Dustin R. Stewart

Brookhaven High — Robert H. Adcock, Sarah T. Adcock*, Margaret L. Albritton (TM), Kaitlyn G. Bledsoe*, Will A. Bowman*, William H. Brewer*, Holden M. Britt*, Derek D. Brown*, Anna G. Buitt*, Tyson E. Byrd Jr.*, Kristina A. Catchings*, Elizabeth C. Donegan, Kailee R. Dunn*, Aleesia B. Franklin (TM), Lily C. Gray*, John J. Layton*, Benton C. Legg, Miracle A. Linzey*, Preston A. Love*, Ambria M. Mackey (TM), Elijah W. Martin*, Aubrye E. Mayfield*, Anna G. McCreary*, Kaniya L. McDaniel*, Jacob S. Meilstrup, Katelyn A. Morrison*, Tameron D. Nealy*, Kha’lia A. Phew*, Bryson T.N. Porter*, Jacob E. Rushing*, Benjamin A. Simmons*, Amari O. Smith*, Chloe R. Smith*, Grayson D. Smith*, Landon P. Smith, William D. Sones III*, Joshua A. Townsend (TM), Alexandria R. Wall, John P. Wallace, and Leslie B. Williamson*

Enterprise — Katie L. Adams, Evan S. Brumfield*, Hailey B. Carithers, Ellie M. Davis, Tucker W. Dykes (TM), Elise A. El-Rai, Sara A. Ezell, Macie A. Flynn, Zuliea Y. Harried, Alley G. Honea, Lauren H. Mathes, Julie L. Rippy, ChristaLynn M. Rowley, Caleb N. Spicer (TM), William Z. Thompson, Jacob D. Waldrop*, and Wesley K. Williams Jr.

Loyd Star — Emily E. Britt, Marley A. Britt, Casen M. DeHart, Christian B. Ford, Ethan C. Holcomb, Carson L. Hughey, Carson F. Keene, Alyssa S. Leggett, Jackson B. Leggett, Mary C. McCurley and Tanner B. Robbins

Mississippi School of the Arts — Jillian Asa, Cecil Bolton, Jordan Brown, Adele Bryant, Eden Cartwright, Carolina Cassisa, Alexander Cruz, Katherine Daleke, Elizabeth Duggan, Mary-Margaret Duggan, Audrey Henderson, Cadence Laird, Elliot Nix, Michael Novinksi, Amy Roberson, Simone Smith, Jonathan Tripp, Emma Stapp, C Waters, Locklyn Wilchynski and Abigail Young

West Lincoln — Kara B. Addison, Hannah B. Boyd, Madison L. Carraway, Chaleigh A. Chisholm, Denise K. Davenport, Peyton M. Davis, Tucker M. Gerald, Ramsey L. Hall, Kali L. Herring, Cara G. Jarancik, Connor L. Johnson, Brieana J. Kin, Victoria N. Kin, Deanna J. Lofton, Lilah A. Pittman, Tristen R. Rollins, Jacob D. Smith and Mailey Kate Young