Bogue Chitto student named PTK officer at national event

Published 6:21 pm Friday, June 9, 2023

Chapter members of Phi Theta Kappa from Hinds Community College’s various campuses travelled to Columbus, Ohio where they attended the PTK Catalyst 2023 in the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

PTK Catalyst is Phi Theta Kappa’s premier annual event that gives its members opportunity for networking with professionals and college representatives. And it’s a time to recognize members for their accomplishments and to elect leaders.

Hinds President Stephen Vacik was also in attendance and received the Paragon Award for New Presidents. Academic Dean for the  Dr. Elmira Ratliff, of Madison, won the Distinguished Administrator Award; she is the assistant dean for post-secondary education at the Vicksburg-Warren Campus.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

There were two Hinds CC students chosen as Distinguished Officers, Hailey Manning of Byram, and Lauren Coghlan of Bogue Chitto, both of the Gamma Lambda Chapter.

“Only about 30 students in the country earned that award,” said  Tim Krason, the Honors Institute Dean on the Raymond Campus. “And very few officer teams won the Distinguished Officer Team award, so obviously, we’re really proud that multiple students, and student groups, from Hinds were recognized.”

The members of the Gamma Lambda Chapter of the Raymond Campus who were recepients of the Distinguished Officer Team award include, Miss Manning, Miss Coghlan, Hailey Henderson of Vicksburg, Zachary Shelton and Mason Gibbs, both of Clinton, Kendrick Lewis of Jackson, Isabella Broome of Clinton, and Sarah Hickey of Raymond.

The Distinguished Officer Team award to the Alpha Omicron Omega Chapter of the Hinds Rankin Campus include Hazel Mejia, Alex Ball, Lauren Blacksher, Alyssa Hanks, Anna Blacksher, Mason Dodd, Olivia Hill, DJ Aycock, Josh Vazquez, Logan Hariel, Alexis Pollard, Trey Robinson and Kaitlyn Thomas, all of Brandon; Matthew Byars and Garrett Heller, both of Flowood, Avery Rogers of Pearl and Anna Swain of Mendenhall.