What candidates will not be in the Primary Election in Lincoln County?

Published 9:50 am Wednesday, August 2, 2023

Some names will not be on the Primary Election ballots.

Lincoln County has five candidates for office who are running as Independents, neither affiliated with the Democratic Party nor the Republican Party.

Independent candidates are not included in the Primary elections. Primaries are to decide who will represent each major political party in the General Election in November.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In the race for Supervisor of District 3, Jason McDonald is running as an independent. In the November election, he will face the winner of the Republican Primary — John David Hart, Ricky Wayne Nations, or Brooks Warren.

Sherry Bowman Bessonette is the independent candidate for the office of Lincoln County Coroner. In the General Election, she will face the winner of the Republican Primary — Joseph Honea III, James D. Martin, or Blake William Wallace.

Three candidates are running as independents in the race for Lincoln County Sheriff. These are Leslie Falvey, Willie J. “Meeka” Gayten Sr., and Henry G. “Bub” Simmons Jr.

All three men will be on the General Election ballot, and will face the winner of the Republican Primary. The Republican candidates are incumbent Sheriff Steve Rushing, Kelly Porter, and Troy Floyd.


See sample ballots here: