Less than 45% of voters decide Primary results in Lincoln County

Published 8:00 am Thursday, August 10, 2023

Fewer than 45% of voters decided Lincoln County’s Primary Election. Just more than 42 percent of eligible voters participated.

According to totals from the office of the circuit clerk, 9,146 voters submitted ballots, including 22 absentee votes yet to be received by mail. The county has approximately 21,770 eligible voters.

The deadline for mail-in absentee ballots to be received is five business days after the election, or by 5 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 15. The ballots must have been postmarked on or before Primary Election Day. This is also the deadline for the single affidavit ballot that remains uncertified.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


Local races

The offices of Lincoln County chancery clerk, circuit clerk and surveyor have all been decided. A single Republican ran unopposed in each race, each the incumbent.

Alisha McGehee will remain chancery clerk; Dustin R. Bairfield will remain circuit clerk; and Joe W. Byrd will remain surveyor. Their names will appear on the November ballot, though remain uncontested.

Republican Blake William Wallace has won the office of Lincoln County coroner. He will appear on the November ballot with independent candidate Sherry Bowman Bessonette.

Incumbent Republican Sheriff Steve Rushing carried the Primary, and will face three independents in November. They are Leslie Falvey, Willie J. “Meeka” Gayten Sr., and Henry G. “Bub” Simmons Jr.

The current county tax assessor and collector, Blake Pickering, will keep his post, winning the Republican Primary. He will be unopposed in the General Election.

In the Lincoln County Justice Court’s Post 1, Judge Ian Smith will stay on the bench after winning the Republican Primary. Justin Case will take the job of constable, winning in the same Primary. They will each appear on the November ballot without opposition.

Both Lincoln County Justice Court Post 2 positions will advance to be decided in the General Election. Incumbent Republican Judge Roger Martin will face Democratic challenger Shane Banks in November. Incumbent Constable Lavon Boyd will face challenger Wade Hinshaw in a Primary Runoff on Aug. 29. The winner of that contest will advance to face Democratic candidate Michael C. Harvey Nov. 7.

Two county supervisor races will move ahead to the Primary Runoff. In District 2, incumbent Jerry McGehee will go up against Keith Lewis once again. In District 3, Ricky Wayne Nations and John David Hart will return to the runoff. All four are on the Republican ballot.

In District 1, incumbent Democrat Jerry L. Wilson will face Republican Donnie “Speedy” Hedgepeth in November. Neither had opponents in the Primary.

Districts 4 and 5 had outright winners. Eli Ferguson won the Republican Primary in District 4, and incumbent Republican Doug Falvey kept his seat in District 5. Both will appear unopposed on the Nov. 7 ballot.

All results are considered unofficial until certified by the Office of the Secretary of State.