Remember to VOTE — Presidential Primary Election Day is Tuesday

Published 1:00 pm Monday, March 11, 2024

Mississippi’s Presidential Primary Election Day is tomorrow — Tuesday, March 12. The ballot includes the offices of president, U.S. Senate and U.S. Representative.

Polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. By law, any voter in line to vote at 7 p.m. is entitled to cast a ballot.

The final day to vote in-person absentee was Saturday, March 9. All mail-in absentee ballots must be postmarked by Tuesday, March 12, and received in the county Circuit Clerk offices by March 19.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Voters are required to present photo identification to vote. If a voter does not have an acceptable form of photo ID, he or she is entitled to cast an affidavit ballot. It is against the law for any campaigning to be done within 150 feet of any entrance to a polling place, unless it is on private property. It is also unlawful to take photos of a marked ballot.

In Lincoln County, residents will vote for the offices of President, Senate, and House of Representatives District 3. Senators represent the entire state, while Representatives represent a particular district. Other counties in District 3 include Lawrence, Walthall, Pike, Amite and Franklin.

Voters in these counties casting Democratic Primary ballots will have the following options:

  • President: Joseph R. Biden Jr. (incumbent)
  • Senate: Ty Pinks

Voters in these areas casting Republican Primary ballots will have the following options:

  • President: Donald J. Trump
  • Senate: Roger F. Wicker (incumbent), Ghannon Burton, or Dan Eubanks
  • House of Representatives, District 3: Michael Guest (incumbent)

Copiah and Jefferson counties are part of District 2. Democratic Primary voters will have the same options for president and Senate, and Bennie G. Thompson (incumbent) as the sole candidate for House of Representatives, District 2.

Republican Primary voters in Copiah and Jefferson will have the same president and Senate options, but will have three options for District 2, House of Representatives: Ron Eller, Andrew Scott Smith, and Taylor Turcotte.

Note that Ron DeSantis, Vivek Ramaswamy, and Nikki R. Haley have all withdrawn from the Republican Presidential Primary, but either did not file affidavits to have their names removed from the Mississippi ballot (DeSantis and Ramaswamy) or withdraw too late for their names to be removed (Haley).

Anyone in Lincoln County who has questions about their polling place can call the Circuit Clerk’s Office at 601-835-3435 during regular business hours.

Copies of the sample ballots are available on Secretary of State Michael Watson’s official website and here: Democratic and Republican.