Saturday deadline on in-office votes

Saturday is the last day voters can cast an absentee ballot for the June 24 runoff primary election in the Lincoln County circuit clerk’s office.

The office, located on the second floor of the Lincoln County-Brookhaven Government Complex, is open weekdays from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. and will be open from 8 a.m. to noon Saturday.

Registered voters who qualify to vote absentee can cast their ballot in person at the circuit clerk’s office, or they can call the circuit clerk’s office at (601) 835-3435 and have a ballot mailed to them.

Mailed-in absentee ballots must be received in the circuit clerk’s post office box by Monday at 5 p.m. in order to be counted in the June 24 election.

Voters who wish to vote absentee are required to fill out and sign an application stating the reason they cannot vote on election day.

Acceptable reasons for voting absentee include military service, having to work during voting hours on election day or having to care for a sick relative outside the county on election day.

Voters also should bring a photo identification card with them when they cast their absentee ballot at the clerk’s office.

Circuit Clerk Dustin Bairfield reminded local residents that registered voters can vote in the June 24 runoff even if they did not vote June 3. However, those who voted June 3 cannot cross over to vote in a different party primary from the one voted on June 3.

Residents must have registered to vote by May 3 to be eligible to vote in the June 24 election.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday for voters to cast ballot in either the Republican U.S. Senate second primary or the Democratic Third Congressional District second primary.

The Republican Senate runoff is between incumbent Thad Cochran and state Sen. Chris McDaniel. The Democratic congressional runoff pits Douglas MacArthur “Doug” Magee of Mendenhall and Dennis Quinn of Magnolia.