Local athletes claim 7-3A honors

Published 12:00 pm Thursday, December 24, 2015

Daily Leader / File Photo / Franklin County's junior De'Martre Collins received the Most Valuable Special Teams Player of the Year in All-Region 7-3A selection.

Daily Leader / File Photo / Franklin County’s junior De’Martre Collins received the Most Valuable Special Teams Player of the Year in All-Region 7-3A selection.

Players from the Franklin County Bulldogs and the Hazlehurst Indians were selected to the All-Region 7-3A Football Team.

Hazlehurst’s senior LaDarius Williams received the Most Valuable Offensive Player of the Year award. Hazlehurst’s sophomore Tim Steward earned the Most Valuable Defensive Player award. Hazlehurst was also selected as the Coaching Staff of the Year.

Franklin County’s junior De’Martre Collins received the Most Valuable Special Teams Player of the Year.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The coaches from the Region 7-3A classification voted on the players selected.

Joining Hazlehurst’s Williams and Steward on the All-Region First Team are DeAnte Mitchell (sr.), LaChris Head (sr.), Patrick Harris (jr.), Anfernee Jordan (sr.), DaMarion Wilson (sr.), Jaquavian Tillman (jr.) and DeQuan Tillman (jr.)

Representing Franklin County with First Team honors are Chris O’Quinn (sr.), Cameron Young (soph.), Greg Queen (sr.), Keonte Bee (soph.), Tony Wells (sr.) and Cortney Smith (sr.).

Wesson athletes who received All-Region 7-3A honors are Cornelius Barlow (sr.), Jemarcus Patterson (sr.) and Bobby Pritchard (jr.).

Hazlehurst’s Second Team honors went to Shauntavious Vardaman (jr.), Wykeen Craft (jr.), Demetrius Swilley (soph.) and Jacquavis Henley (sr.).

Second Team All-Region honors went to Franklin County’s Deione Buckles (soph.), Marquavis Dunn (sr.), Ryan Johnson (sr.), Morgan Starks (sr.), Ladarius Norman (jr.) and Dominique White (soph.).

For Wesson, Second Team honors went to Matthew Craft (jr.), Jerimiah Stapleton (sr.) and Kendrick Brown (sr.).

On the Honorable Mention list for Franklin County are Jacob McDaniel (soph.), Marquis Hunt (sr.), Jacob Jordan (jr.), Ben Cowart (jr.), Antonio Christmas (sr.) and Thomas Slagle (jr.).

Melvin Wiley (sr.) and Billy Johnson (sr.) were selected from Hazlehurst.

Davion Frye (sr.), DeMarcus Smith (sr.) and Tyler Granger (sr.) were chosen from Wesson.

Region 7-3A All-District Team

MVP:  Desmond Hunter, Wilkinson Co. Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year:  LaDarius Williams, Hazlehurst Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year:  Tim Steward, Hazlehurst So.

Special Teams Player of the Year: Demartre Collins, Franklin Co. Jr.

Coaching Staff of the Year:  Hazlehurst

First Team All Region

Franklin Co.:  Chris O’Quinn Sr., Cameron Young So., Greg Queen Sr., Keonte Bee So., Tony Wells Sr., Cortney Smith Sr.

Hazlehurst:  DeAnte Mitchell Sr., LaChris Head Sr., Patrick Harris Jr., Anfernee Jordan Sr., DaMarion Wilson Sr., Jaquavian Tillman Jr., DeQuan Tillman Jr.

Wesson:  Cornelius Barlow Sr., Jemarcus Patterson Sr., Bobby Pritchard Jr.

Jefferson Co.:  DyKevis Ford So., James Claiborne Sr., Jalen Herrington Jr., Jaquarious Blake Jr.

Port Gibson: Malik Haynes, Dequantae Burden, Jonte Demby

Wilkinson Co.:  Juan Anthony Jr., Travion Jones Jr., Robert Swint Sr., Phillip Thompson Sr., Ja’Quorias Stewart Jr.

 Second Team All Region 

Franklin Co.:  Deione Buckles So., Marquavis Dunn Sr., Ryan Johnson Sr., Morgan Starks Sr., Ladarius Norman Jr., Dominique White So.

Hazlehurst:  Shauntavious Vardaman Jr., Wykeen Craft Jr., Demetrius Swilley So., Jacquavis Henley Sr.

Wesson:  Matthew Craft Jr., Jerimiah Stapleton Sr., Kendrick Brown Sr.

Jefferson Co.:  Kenrica Doss Sr., Matthew Brown Sr., Lendell Rushing So., KeShuan Nelson Sr.

Port Gibson:  Jacory Rankin, Dequaveun Turner, Terrell Moore

Wilkinson Co.:  La Thomas Sharp Sr., Desmond Wilson Jr., LaKendrick Washington Jr., Juntavious Cage Jr., Larry Veals Jr.

 Honorable Mention 

Franklin Co.: Jacob McDaniel So., Marquis Hunt Sr., Jacob Jordan Jr., Ben Cowart Jr., Antonio Christmas Sr., Thomas Slagle Jr.

Hazlehurst:  Melvin Wiley Sr., Billy Johnson Sr.

Wesson: Davion Frye Sr., DeMarcus Smith Sr., Tyler Granger Sr.

Jefferson Co.: None reported

Port Gibson:  Jakeem Gibson, Kelsey Dotson, Fabian Gilmore, Dameyume Wilson, Demarcus Johnson, Zavian Tate, Stephen Savage

Wilkinson Co.:  Steve Brengettsy, Corey Holmes